Executive Council

Cell and Systems Biology Graduate Union

2018-2019

Amir Arellano Saab | Co-President

Hey! I’m Amir and I serve as Co-President for the CSBGU. I am a 3rd year Ph.D. Student in the McCourt lab, studying the molecular and structural evolution of parasitic receptors… cool eh?

Amad Batti | Co-President

Hi everyone, my name is Amad and I am excited to serve as one of your Co-Presidents this year! I am a second year Master’s student studying the dynamics of collective cell migration during Drosophila oogenesis. Aside from my school life, I enjoy video games, playing sports and trying new foods. I’m also a huge sneaker head, so feel free to ask me about my collection of kicks!

Vishal Sangha | Communications Director

Hi, I’m Vishal and I serve as Communications Director this year! I am a second year Master’s student in the Lange/Orchard lab studying the neuroendocrinology of Rhodnius prolixus! When I’m not in the lab I love to watch and play sports and listen to tons of rap music! You can contact me at vishal.sangha@mail.utoronto.ca

Mouska Patang | Treasurer

I’m Mouska. I’ll be your Treasurer this year. My research area is investigating role of hydrogen sulphide as a molecular oxygen sensor in the anoxic turtle brain. You can contact me at mouska.patang@utoronto.ca

Claresta Adityani | Secretary

I’m Claresta and I’m your secretary for this year. I’m a first year Master student studying the signalling networks underlying Striga germination. You can reach me at claresta.adityani@mail.utoronto.ca

Jin Meng | Fundraising Officer

Hi, I’m Jin and I am your Fundraising Officer this year. I am a first year Master’s student in the Developmental Biology program in the Godt lab. You can contact me at jin.meng@mail.utoronto.ca

Renan Nascimento De Almeida | Sports Coordinator

I’m Renan and I am your Sports Coordinator. My field of study is Genome biology and Bioinformatics. You can contact me at renan.almeida@mail.utoronto.ca

Kateryna Cybulsky | CUPE Representative

I’m Kateryna and I am the CSBGU CUPE reprasentative. I am a second-year Master’s student in the Guttman Lab studying how the wheat head microbiome affects wheat’s susceptibility to Fusarium Head Blight. You can contact me at kateryna.cybulsky@mail.utoronto.ca 

Mouly Rahman | UTSC Representative

I’m Mouly, the UTSC Rep. I study neuro-molecular and behavioural outcomes of early-life stress. With the help of the CSBGU team, I would like to organize events that are more attractive to UTSC grad students and that are held at the UTSC campus. In effect, the CSBGU would strengthen connections between grad students in both geographical locations.

Ahmed Hasan | UTM Representative

I’m Ahmed, the UTM Representative. My research interests include bioinformatics, and population genetics. You can contact me at ahmed.hasan@mail.utoronto.ca

Alexandre Martel | 1st Year Representative

I’m Alex, I am the 1st year representative, in a plant pathology lab. You can contact me at alex.martel@mail.utoronto.ca

Fernando Valencia | Seminar Representative

I’m Fernando, the Seminar Representative. My field of study is cytoskeleton dynamics. You can contact me at Fernando.valencia@mail.utoronto.ca

Medha Sharma | Professional Development Officer

I’m Medha, a 3rdyear PhD student in the Harris Lab. I will be your Career & Professional Development Officer. You can contact me at medha.sharma@mail.utoronto.ca

Abdiwahab Moalim | Professional Development Officer

I’m a PhD candidate in the Plotnikov Lab studying how cells sense the stiffness of their surroundings. I’m really excited to be part of the council this year as a CPDO! I believe that students in our department collectively have a lot of knowledge that we can synthesize and harness to help us all grow together. You can contact me at abdiwahab.moalim@mail.utoronto.ca

Steven Chen | GSU Representative

I’m Steven, your GSU Representative. I use protein engineering to characterize GPCRs in high-throughput. You can contact me at stevenk.chen@mail.utoronto.ca

Mahmoud Bitar | GSU Representative

Hi I’m Mahmoud, your GSU Representative. I study Biopsychology with Dr. Ashley Monks; the role of the Androgen Receptor in pheromo
nal communication in C57Bl/6 mice. You can contact me at m.bitar@mail.utoronto.ca

Ian Hsu | Ombudsperson

I’m Ian, your Ombudsperson. I study Evolutionary Systems Biology. You can contact me at ian.hsu@mail.utoronto.ca